In 2009, Department “Physiology” and Division “Pathophysiology” were united in one department – “Physiology and Pathophysiology”.

In 2011, Assoc. Prof. Aneliya Dimitrova from the „Pathophysiology" division was selected as Head of the “Physiology and Pathophysiology” Department. The academic staff of the department includes three Associate Professors and seven Assistant Professors. The department consists of two divisions – Physiology and Pathophysiology.